Update: You can now follow this list with just one click. Head over to the @carsonified/top-web-devs list.

I’ve been on Twitter since 2006 (@ryancarson) and it’s where I get all my news these days. It’s important to know who to follow in order to get the best advice, tips and news.

Here’s a list of the top web developers on Twitter (in no particular order). I’ll also be publishing lists for web designers, entrepreneurs and ‘generally interesting’ people.

[Updated: I’ve added some new names that should’ve made the first cut!]

I wasn’t able to fit everyone on this list, so please feel free to make suggestions in the comments.

  1. Leah Culver @leahculver
  2. Kevin Marks @kevinmarks
  3. John Maeda @johnmaeda
  4. Xeni Jardin @xenijardin
  5. Rasmus Lerdorf @rasmus
  6. Aza Raskin @azaaza
  7. Ian Dodsworth @iaindodsworth
  8. Gina Trapani @ginatrapani
  9. Francisco Tolmasky @tolmasky
  10. Jonathan Snook @snookca
  11. Brittany Bohnet @brit
  12. Blake Ross @blakeross
  13. Jeff Atwood @codinghorror
  14. David Recordon @daveman692
  15. Eric Meyer @meyerweb
  16. David Heinemeier Hansson @d2h
  17. Jamis Buck @jamis
  18. Andre Torrez@torrez
  19. Joe Stump @joestump
  20. Dion Almaer @dalmaer
  21. Molly E. Holzschlag @mollydotcom
  22. Chris Wilson @cwilso
  23. Shaun Inman @shauninman
  24. Mike Buzzard @mbuzzard
  25. Billie M. Mandel @synaesthete
  26. Simon Willison @simonw
  27. Matt Mullenweg @photomatt
  28. Matt Biddulph @mattb
  29. Garrett Dimon @garrettdimon
  30. Gabe Rivera @gaberivera
  31. Daniela Barbosa @danielabarbosa
  32. Drew McLellan @drewm
  33. Blaine Cook @blaine
  34. Chris Lea @chrislea
  35. John Resig @jeresig
  36. Stefan Magdalinski @smagdali
  37. Tim Bray @timbray
  38. Nate Koechley @natekoechley
  39. Christian Heilmann @codepo8
  40. Brad Neuberg @bradneuberg
  41. Alex Payne @al3x
  42. Marco Arment @marcoarment
  43. Rey Bango @reybango
  44. Cal Henderson @iamcal

Photo credit: flickr.com/photos/mloesjeenzo